Setting Permissions Of Files

Setting permissions on a file allows the users to protect the document by restricting a user's rights to having update, delete, read-only or full permissions. Full permission allows users to set permissions. In order to set permissions on a file, the user must:

  1. Navigate to the desired Briefcase module via the Briefcase or Projects application.
  2. Navigate to the folder in which the file you wish to change permissions to is located. Open the folder by clicking the folder name.
  3. Select the file from the file list by clicking on the name of the file.
  4. Click on the "Security" tab on top of the document detail screen.
  5. The system will then display a list of project members and their associated rights marked by a checkmark in the box below each level of permissions. The permissions are as follows:
    • Full: The ability to set permissions, read, update and delete.
    • Read: The ability to view and download the file only.
    • Update: The ability to add versions of the file through check in and check out.
    • Delete: The ability to delete the file. A user without delete permissions cannot have full permissions.
  6. To set the appropriate the permissions for project members, make sure that a check mark appears in the proper boxes corresponding to each permission level. A check mark means that permission is granted. No check mark means that permission is denied. Add or remove check marks by clicking on the boxes.
  7. Once complete click the "Save" button.
  8. If no changes are to be saved, click on the "General" tab at the top of the document detail.

Details

Article ID: 3699
Created
Tue 2/3/15 12:08 PM
Modified
Fri 6/26/20 9:38 AM