How are Briefcase permissions enforced?

Overview

When working with projects, the Briefcase is an important component where project members and stakeholders are able to easily share files. However, some of the shared files could contain sensitive information. In addition, individuals who are associated with projects may have very different roles (and limitations) for actions that must be taken on the project. For this reason, there are three major permissions surrounding the Briefcase:

  • Read
  • Modify
  • Delete

It should be noted that for the root-level folder of any project briefcase, the only available actions are to Add a Folder and Edit Briefcase security. In addition, there is a Full permission that grants Read, Modify, and Delete permissions to any user with the Full permission designated.

Permission Configuration

Locate the Briefcase folder where you would like to setup permissions. There is a lock icon in the toolbar, and it also appears when a user right clicks on a folder, displaying a folder context menu.

On this page, there is a list of every user associated with the project, in addition to a Default user. The default user can be configured such that any subsequent users added to the project will inherit the same set of permissions as the Default user. However, this page can be edited so that specific users can be granted permissions that are different from the Default.

There is also a Cascade Added Permissions option on this page that allows for child files and folders to inherit the permissions. If this is specified at the root-level of a project, then the entire project briefcase will have the same permissions enforced throughout. However, this can also be specified on multiple child folders in order to partition the briefcase permissions for a given project. These permissions can be configured for any project folder in the briefcase.

Briefcase Visibility

When visiting the Briefcase application, all visible folders are briefcase folders for projects to which the current user belongs AND to which the user has READ permission.

Briefcase Actions

When working in the Briefcase, there are a variety of actions that can be taken for both files and folders. Folders on the left hand side can be collapsed, expanded, and clicked to navigate the Briefcase structure. At any given point, the Briefcase application will display a list of all files that are located in the currently-selected folder. In addition, the top toolbar displays a list of icons representing all folder actions that are available to the user.

  • Edit SecurityThe user must have the Full permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Add a FolderThe user must have the Modify permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Download a FolderThe user must have the Read permission for the current briefcase folder. It should be noted that this will download a .zip of the current folder, but external files are excluded from the download.

  • Delete a FolderThe user must have the Delete permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Rename a FolderThe user must have the Modify permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Refresh a FolderThe user must have the Read permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Cut a FolderThe user must have the Modify permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Paste a FolderThe user must have the Modify permission for the current briefcase folder and has already performed a Cut Folder operation.

  • Add FilesThe user must have the Modify permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Download a FileThe user must have the Read permission for the current briefcase folder and the file is not external.

  • Open a FileThe user must have the Read permission for the current briefcase folder and the file is external.

  • Forward a FileThe user must have the Read permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Delete a FileThe user must have the Delete permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Move a FileThe user must have the Full permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Rename a FileThe user must have the Full or Modify permission for the current briefcase folder.

  • Move File across ProjectsThe user must have the Full permission for the current briefcase folder. In addition, the user must have the Can Move Files Between Projects​ permission, which can be configured for the user's security role by visiting Admin > Users & Roles > Security Roles.

  • Copy a FileThe user must have the Full permission for the current briefcase folder and the file is not external.

When performing folder actions at the Project level (i.e. the root folder of the Briefcase), the user must have the Full or Modify permission. In addition, only the Edit Security and Add Folder actions are available at the Project level.

External Files

The following external files can currently be added to the Briefcase application once configured and enabled for an organization:

  • Google Drive
  • Box
  • OneDrive
  • OneDrive for Business
  • Dropbox

It should be noted that external files cannot be downloaded directly. Instead, this option is replaced by an Open action, which opens up a new window where the file can be viewed on the original website. In addition, external files are unable to be copied, and any permissions configured on the external website are respected when viewing external files or attempting to add them to the briefcase.

When adding files, each of the external files can only be added after it has been configured in the Admin tool. This can be configured by visiting Admin > Organization Settings > Briefcase/Attachment Integration and selecting the appropriate checkboxes. In addition, a system administrator must configure each of these for each instance of the TeamDynamix application.

Installed clients can have their own system administrator configure these external briefcase file integrations. The system administrator can view instructions for setting up each type of integration by visiting the Management > Briefcase Integration page in the Admin tool. 

An administrator can later enable/disable each of these external file types independently by visiting Projects > Briefcase Integration in the admin tool. Once these changes are saved for an organization, it may take up to five minutes for this setting to take effect in the rest of the application. When attempting to add external files to the Briefcase, only those items for which the integration is enabled should appear.

0% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 8650
Created
Tue 9/1/15 1:48 PM
Modified
Tue 12/31/19 6:26 PM