Working with Document Workflows

This how-to article will help users to understand the project briefcase document workflow process using the Projects/Workspaces application in TDNext. The user must be a resource on the project in question and have permissions in the briefcase folder(s) of that project to at least Read that folder’s contents.

Overview

Document workflows that have been configured and activated in TDAdmin, and added to a project in TDNext, can be applied to project files. As part of a project a file can be routed through the workflow for vetting or review. When the process is started, files will automatically lock and forward to the first approver in the workflow.

The document workflow allows collaboration via the workflow’s designated step approvers to get a project document in a state that is ready for action or so it demonstrates the finalized version of whatever information it is intended to relay. Once the workflow completes, the document will no longer be able to be modified.

Assigning a File to a Document Workflow

To assign a file to a workflow:

  1. In TDNext, open the Projects/Workspaces application.
  2. Click the appropriate Project or Workspace in the left navigation.
  3. Click Briefcase in the left sub navigation.
  4. Locate the file by using search or opening the folder.
  5. Click the name of the file.
  6. In the File Detail window, click the link for “Assign to Workflow”.
  7. Select the workflow from the Workflow dropdown list in the new popup window.
  8. Click the Assign and Start Workflow button.

Approving Files in a Document Workflow

When a project member is listed as an approver in a document workflow step, they need to approve or reject the file before it can proceed to the next step.

If the approver receives an email with a link to the file approval form, they can click the link in the email and start from step 4 below.

When in a workflow, the file is locked based upon the document workflow configuration in TDAdmin > Workflows > Document Workflows. This means no other users can add a new version of the file into the briefcase. Depending on the Admin configuration settings the approver and/or the file creator may be able to add new revisions of the file.

To approve a file to complete a workflow step:

  1. In TDNext, open Document Workflows.
  2. Click the Pending File Approvals link in the toolbar.
  3. Click the file name.
  4. Add a new version (if the workflow step permits it), add comments, approvereject, and/or download a copy for review. If the user is able to add a new revision of the workflow document, a New Version field will be present in this page. That field may be used to indicate a new version as a part of the Approve or Reject action.
  5. If the user approves the file, it is routed to the next approver in the workflow.
  1. If the user rejects the file, it is routed to the previous approver for revision. The file will then be routed back to the user.
    for revision.

Viewing Document Workflow History

If a document is assigned to a workflow, it will have a viewable history. The approver and status at each step will be displayed.

To view the workflow history for a file:

  1. In TDNext, open the Projects/Workspaces application.
  2. Click the appropriate Project or Workspace in the left navigation.
  3. Click Briefcase in the left sub navigation.
  4. Locate the file by using search or opening the folder.
  5. Click the name of the file.
  6. In the File Detail window click the "History" link and a popup window will display the history information.

Details

Article ID: 3708
Created
Tue 2/3/15 12:12 PM
Modified
Mon 6/14/21 12:36 PM