Windows Budget and Capacity Planner

Windows Budget and Capacity Planner (WBCP) is a Windows application that helps portfolio managers plan their upcoming projects. WBCP allows you to forecast project budgets and manage resources' schedules by visualizing their availability, allocations and changes to their allocations. It is used for planning purposes and does not persist changes to their schedules.

Getting Started

To get started, download and install Windows Budget and Capacity Planner by following these steps: 

  1. Open the Portfolio Planning application in TDNext. 
  2. Select "Budget and Capacity Planner" in the left navigator, under Standard Reports. 
  3. Click the Download button to download Setup.exe. 
  4. Run Setup.exe to install and launch Windows Budget and Capacity Planner. 
  5. Click Options and set the TDNext URL to the URL you use to access TDNext. 
  6. Review the Privacy Policy, and optionally check "Do not track usage". 
  7. Click OK. You are now ready to run WBCP. 

Running a Report

Once you start Windows Budget and Capacity Planner, you’ll need to run a report in order to pull back data. Click the “Run Report…” button on the toolbar to bring up the run report window. This window has a few options: 

  • Date Range - By default the report will run from the start of the current month to the end of the month the following year. These dates can be adjusted but the overall period cannot be longer than five years and the start month cannot be in the past.  
  • Employee Filtering - This controls whether WBCP will show data for employees, non-employees or both. 
  • Include Projects / Workspaces in results - When selected, the report will include projects. 
  • Include Project Requests in results - When selected, project requests will be included if they have passed the Ready for Reporting step in their workflow. 
  • Reset list of checked projects / requests - This only applies when re-running a report. If you had checked or unchecked certain projects or requests, this will reset those selections to the default when you rerun the report. 
  • Reset any shifts you have made - This only applies when re-running a report. If you had made any shifts (see below), this will reset them.   

Once you click OK, the data will begin downloading. 

Viewing the Budget and Capacity Report

WBCP has a toolbar which controls how you interact with the generated report.

  • Run – This reopens the Run menu, to run a new report or adjust settings.
  • Refresh – This reloads the data from TeamDynamix, without changing settings.
  • Filter – This opens the Filter menu, where you can filter by Role, Acct/Dept, Type, Priority, Resource Pool, Reports To, Active/Inactive, and Score.
  • Print – Prints the currently selected views.
  • Export – Exports the currently selected views.
  • Show – Allows you to choose which of the views should be displayed.
  • Shift – Allows you to shift a row of the Allocations or Budget grid forward or backward by a month.
  • All Roles – When you have filtered the report to a role or resource using the Availability grid, this removes the filter.

Throughout the application, you can click on a project or request’s title or a person’s name to view additional details. For people, this includes an availability report that breaks down the details of that person’s assignments.

Availability Grid

The availability grid displays the capacity for all roles and resources, as long as the role has resources assigned to it. Each data cell in this grid represents the remaining availability for that month (calculated by subtracting scheduled hours from that month’s capacity). Cells in red have schedules that exceed capacity, and cells in green have schedules that are under capacity. White cells have no schedule.

The top level, “All Roles,” is a summary of all roles in the report. The next level shows each role, and the lowest level shows the individual resources that have that primary role. Clicking on an individual row will filter the Allocations and Budget grids for items related to that role or resource.

In the Allocations and Budgets grids, you can select and deselect projects and requests, to control whether they should be included in the calculations for the availability grid.

Allocations Grid

The allocations grid displays the projects, workspaces, and project requests that are included in the report, along with the Score, Score %, Priority, Status, and Acct/Dept for those projects and requests.  Each column shows that month’s allocated hours for the project/request, role, or resource.

The top level is a summary of all projects and workspaces or requests in the report. The next level lists the summary for an entire project, workspace or request. Deselecting a row at this level will remove it from the availability grid and from the summary row above. The third level includes the specific roles that are included. Finally, for projects and workspaces only, the last level includes the specific named resources.

Budgets Grid

The Budgets grid displays the projects, workspaces, and requests in the report in a very similar format to the Allocations grid. It includes all the same rows and drilldown as the allocations grid, but also includes Expense Budgets with a rollup and broken down by specific expense accounts. However, instead of listing the allocated hours for each cell, it lists the projected cost of the allocations. This is calculated as the person’s or role’s Bill Rate times the hours that are allocated in that month. A person’s bill rate overrides a role’s rate.

Shifts and the Changes Grid

The Changes grid works with the Shift feature to track the changes you have made in Windows Budget and Capacity Planner. Whenever you select a row (at any level of the hierarchy) in the Allocations or Budgets grid, you can use the Shift arrows to move that row (and rows below it) forward or backwards by one month. These changes will be reflected in the Availability grid, and in the rows further up the hierarchy in the Budgets and Allocations grids. This allows you to shift and adjust projects or parts of projects so you can see how certain actions would change your schedule. You can also check or uncheck projects or requests to see how cancelling a project or accepting a request would affect resource scheduling and availability.

All of these changes made in the Allocations and Budget grid are logged in the Changes grid, so that you can have a log of what had been changed. These changes are not saved to TeamDynamix, so you should save them by printing them, exporting them, or taking a screenshot.

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the difference between Initial and New?

Initial is the value based on a resource's schedule on the project or workspace. 

New is the value for that month after shifting a schedule forwards or backwards.

What Project Requests appear in the Budget and Capacity Planner?

Requests must meet the following criteria:

  • The Project request is PAST a ready for reporting step (not in) inside a Portfolio Planning workflow.
  • There is at least one functional role estimate or expense forecast on the Project Request.
  • The dates on the functional role forecasts or expense forecasts have some overlap with the dates for the Budget and Capacity Report.

What Projects appear in the Budget and Capacity Planner?

Projects must meet the following criteria:

  • There is at least one functional role estimate or expense forecast on the Project Request.
  • The dates on the functional role forecasts or expense forecasts have some overlap with the dates for the Budget and Capacity Report.

What Workspaces appear in the Budget and Capacity Planner?

Workspaces must meet the following criteria:

  • The dates on the resource schedules have some overlap with the dates for the Budget and Capacity Report.

What happens to my project requests in my workflow if my "Ready for Reporting" step changes? 

Edits to the workflow don't go into effect for projects requests that are already in that workflow. Therefore, you'll need to resubmit the project request into the workflow in order for the changes you made to the workflow to be enforced. This includes the ready for reporting step. If you change that step, it won't be reflected until that project request is reintroduced into the workflow. 

How is Total Capacity calculated?

Total Capacity is based off of the resources' primary functional roles. Assigning a person to a project or request as a secondary functional role will not add total capacity hours to that functional role in the report.

100% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 3361
Created
Fri 1/30/15 2:55 PM
Modified
Fri 11/22/19 3:56 PM