When I create tasks in the project plan, I might:
1. Create Task 1, and assign to User 1
2. Create Task 2, set Task 1 as a predecessor, and also assign to User 1
After doing this, User 1 will see both tasks in their My Work, even if Task 1 isn't completed (or even started) yet. Is this intentional? Is there a different way I should set tasks up so that a user isn't overloaded with all the tasks they're assigned?