The Notified settings for user groups control who in the group is notified if that group is directly notified.
Notifying a group directly only sends emails to the users marked as Notified in the group.
However, when notifying multiple groups or users and groups, the system will follow a most inclusive model. This means that if at least one path to notify a user can be followed, the user will be notified. Here are some conceptual examples.
- Resource X
- Group X, of which Resource X is a member and should not be notified
- Group Y, of which Resource X is a member and should be notified
If someone notifies Resource X, Resource X will receive an email because individual resources always receive emails.
If someone notifies Group X, Resource X will not receive an email because of the Group X notification settings.
If someone notifies Group X and Group Y, Resource X will receive an email because the Group Y notifications settings say to notify Resource X.
If someone notifies Group X and Resource X, Resource X will receive an email because individual resources always receive email.