Checking Out Files

Checking out a file will lock the file from being checked out and changed by other users. This insures that project members do not become confused by multiple versions of documents. In order to check out a file, the user must:

  1. In TDNext, navigate to the desired Briefcase module via the Briefcase or Projects/Workspaces application.
  2. Navigate to the folder in which the file you wish to check out is located. Open the folder by clicking the folder name.
  3. Select the file from the file list by clicking on the name of the file.
  4. Click the "Actions" button and then the "Check Out" link, if available, and the file will be checked out to you. Other users will see that the file is checked out and that they cannot add a new version of the file until you either check it in or undo your check out. Undoing your check out will leave the previous version of the document in the briefcase as opposed to adding your new version as a new revision.
100% helpful - 2 reviews

Details

Article ID: 3693
Created
Tue 2/3/15 12:05 PM
Modified
Mon 6/29/20 5:52 PM