In the ticketing system, what permissions restrict what actions may be taken on tickets and their tasks/activities?

General Restrictions

Unless explicitly mentioned otherwise, users are not able to perform any of the listed operations on tickets or associated tasks/activities if the ticket has been converted to a project task or the ticket is a template.

Definitions

Before delving into the specific actions and their corresponding restrictions, it is important to understand some various general terms that will be referenced later on.

In this article, the term "reviewer of the ticket" indicates that a user is either explicitly listed as the reviewer (based on the ticket type), or no specific person is the reviewer but one of the user's groups is listed as the reviewer.

In this article, the term "primarily assigned to the ticket" indicates that a user is either explicitly listed as primarily responsible, or no specific user is responsible but the ticket is assigned to one of the user's groups.

Ticket Visibility

Viewing a Ticket

A user can view a ticket if any of the following conditions are true:

  • The user is the creator or requestor of the ticket and the ticketing application allows creators/requestors to view tickets. 
  • The user is in the associated account/department, and has the permission to view tickets in their account/department, and the ticketing application allows users to view tickets in their associated accounts/departments.
  • The user is a contact on the ticket and the application allows contacts to view tickets.
  • The user has access to the ticketing application.

If a ticket has been converted to a project task, it is still visible to individuals in the Services application.

Ticket Actions

Adding a Ticket to My Work

A user can add a ticket to their My Work list if all of the following conditions are true:

  • The ticket is not marked as complete or cancelled
  • The user has access to My Work
  • The user is assigned to the ticket

If a ticket has no responsible user when the ticket is added to a user’s My Work list, the ticket’s responsibility is set to that user.

Assigning a Ticket

A user can assign or unassign the responsible user or group on a ticket if any of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Edit All Tickets" permission
  • The user is the reviewer of the ticket
  • The user is primarily assigned to the ticket

Assigning a Workflow to a Ticket

A user can assign a workflow to a ticket if any of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Edit All Tickets" permission
  • The user is the reviewer of the ticket

Changing a Ticket's Classification (8.6)

A user can change a ticket's classification if all of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Edit Ticket Classification" permission
  • The ticket isn't in a workflow, or the workflow is complete

Editing a Ticket

A user can edit a ticket if any of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Edit All Tickets" permission
  • The user is the reviewer of the ticket
  • The user is primarily assigned to the ticket and they have the "Edit Assigned Tickets" permission

Merging a Ticket

A user can merge a source ticket into another ticket if all of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Merge Tickets" permission
  • They have the ability to update the source ticket

Taking a Ticket

A user can take a ticket if all of the following conditions are true:

  • The ticket has not been converted to a project task
  • The ticket is not marked as complete or cancelled
  • The ticket is not assigned to any user
  • The user has the "Take Tickets" permission

Updating a Ticket

A user can update a ticket if any of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Edit All Tickets" permission
  • They have the "Update All Tickets" permission
  • The user is the reviewer of the ticket
  • The user is primarily assigned to the ticket and they have the "Edit Assigned Tickets" permission

A user can update a ticket even if it has been converted to a project task, but only if the ticket has been marked as completed.

Withdrawing a Ticket Request

A user can withdraw a ticket request if all of the following conditions are true:

  • The user is the creator or requestor of the ticket
  • The ticket has not been marked as complete or cancelled

Importing Tickets

A user can import tickets if all of the following conditions are true:

  • They have access to the ticketing application
  • They have the "Bulk-Import Tickets" permission for the application

Ticket Task Actions

Adding Tasks to a Ticket

A user can add a ticket task to a ticket if any of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Edit All Tickets" permission
  • The user is the reviewer of the ticket
  • The user is primarily assigned to the ticket

Workflow tasks cannot be manually added to tickets.  In addition, maintenance activities can only be added to change or release tickets.

Adding a Ticket Task to My Work

A user can add a ticket task to their My Work list if all of the following conditions are true:

  • The associated ticket has not been converted to a task
  • The associated ticket is not on hold
  • The task is active
  • The task is less than 100% complete
  • The user is assigned to the task (either listed explicitly as responsible, or no specific user is responsible but the task is assigned to one of the user’s groups)
  • The user has access to My Work

If a task has no responsible user when the task is added to a user’s My Work list, the task’s responsibility is set to that user.

Editing (including Assignment) or Deleting Tasks on a Ticket

A user can edit (including assignment) or delete tasks on a ticket if any of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Edit All Tickets" permission
  • They are the reviewer of the ticket
  • The user is primarily assigned to the ticket
  • The user is assigned to the task (either listed explicitly as responsible, or no specific user is responsible but the task is assigned to one of the user’s groups)

Workflow tasks cannot be deleted.  For all other ticket task types, deletion permission depends on the above criteria.

Taking a Ticket Task

A user can take a ticket task if they can edit the task and all of the following conditions are true:

  • The ticket task is not marked as complete
  • The ticket task is not assigned to any user

Updating Tasks on a Ticket

A user can update a task on a ticket if the ticket has not been converted to a project task, the ticket task is active, and any of the following conditions are true:

  • They have the "Update All Tickets" permission
  • They have the "Edit All Tickets" permission
  • They are the reviewer of the ticket
  • The user is primarily assigned to the ticket
  • The user is assigned to the task (either listed explicitly as responsible, or no specific user is responsible but the task is assigned to one of the user’s groups)

Essentially, this is the same set of conditions for being able to edit or delete tasks on a ticket save for the fact that the "Update All Tickets" permission also applies.

Ticket Survey Actions

Deleting Survey Responses

A user can delete ticket survey responses if all of the following conditions are true:

  • The user can see the survey response
  • They have the "Delete Survey Responses" permission
100% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 1184
Created
Wed 3/12/14 6:25 PM
Modified
Fri 6/19/20 1:17 PM